Saginaw Valley Chapter of ICC

Sharon Carroll Memorial Scholarship

Program Rules and Procedures

The Saginaw Valley Chapter of International Code Council (SVCICC) consists of local building and fire code officials who meet periodically to discuss local and national health, safety and welfare issues as they relate to those who live, work and play in Saginaw Valley’s built environment.

Sharon Carroll, CBO (1953 – 2008) of Saginaw Township was a founding member and SVCICC’s first president. Sharon was a Michigan registered Building Inspector, Building Official and Plan Reviewer in Saginaw Township, Tuscola County, City of Frankenmuth and several other communities. Sharon served on a number of local, state and national committees throughout her career. She held degrees in Construction Management and Dental Hygiene.

The Sharon Carroll Memorial Scholarship Fund Committee consists of three Past Presidents of the SVCICC and awards annual scholarships of $500 to applicants in the higher education studies of construction management, architecture, engineering, and dental hygiene at any accredited technical school, college or university.

The number of scholarships to be awarded each year will depend on the fund balance of the scholarship program. Applicants must file annually as scholarships are awarded yearly based on the applications received.

Applications received from SVCICC members or their children will receive first consideration. Scholarship grants are made once a year, prior to the start of the Fall semester.

Scholarships are awarded to the individual student. Grade point average and community involvement are not the sole determining factors when considering an application, but do contribute to determine the merit of the student. The scholarship is granted to offset costs associated with tuition and books for the curriculum submitted. It is intended that the student will remain enrolled for the term for which the scholarship has been granted.

Download Scholarship Application